President John A. Pieper

John A. Pieper, President and ProfessorJohn A. Pieper, Pharm.D., FCCP, FAPhA, became the fourth President of St. Louis College of Pharmacy on August 1, 2010. Prior to his appointment at the College, Pieper served as professor and dean of the College of Pharmacy at University of New Mexico (UNM), with concurrent appointments as vice president for research and deputy executive vice president at UNM Health Sciences Center in Albuquerque. Pieper was also a senior fellow at Robert Wood Johnson Center for Health Policy at UNM and was adjunct professor, facultad de farmacia, at Universidad Autónoma del Estado de Morelos in Cuernavaca, Mexico.

Prior to his appointment at UNM in November 2002, Pieper served as professor and chairman of the Division of Pharmacotherapy at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Pharmacy and as associate dean for clinical programs and founding chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice at University of Colorado School of Pharmacy. He has also held faculty positions in the colleges of pharmacy at University of Tennessee and at University of Florida.

Pieper has trained 15 postdoctoral fellows and has more than 80 peer-reviewed research publications and approximately 100 published research abstracts in the areas of cardiovascular pharmacotherapy, pharmacokinetics and drug metabolism. Pieper received a Bachelor of Arts in Molecular Biology from University of Colorado, a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from University of Wyoming, and a Doctor of Pharmacy and postdoctoral fellowship training at State University of New York at Buffalo School of Pharmacy.

Pieper is a past president of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP), a fellow of ACCP, and he has been a board-certified pharmacotherapy specialist with added qualifications in cardiology.

In 2006, he was selected by the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists for the Outstanding Dean Award among pharmacy deans in the United States. In 2008, he was elected speaker of the house of delegates of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, and he serves as a member of the Pharmacy Education Advisory Committee for the National Association of Chain Drug Stores.

Pieper served a four-year term on the American Society of Health System Pharmacists’ Commission on Credentialing, which accredits first- and second-year pharmacy residency programs in the United States. In 2010, he was selected as a fellow by the American Pharmacists Association.

In 2010, Pieper became a member of the International Pharmacy Federation (known by its French abbreviation, FIP), and he was elected as one of 12 international pharmacy educators serving on the Academic Institutional Member Advisory Group. He was then elected to serve a four-year term on the FIP Academic Pharmacy Section’s executive committee and serves as the chair of the committee writing the section’s strategic plan. In 2016, Pieper was elected as president-elect of the Academic Pharmacy Section.

Currently, he serves on the Board of Directors for the United Way of Greater St. Louis, the Urban League of Metropolitan St. Louis, and the Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes-Jewish College.

Pieper and his wife Patty live in St. Louis and have two grown children, Katie, an attorney in Chicago, and Johnny, who works in insurance in Charleston, South Carolina.

Contact the Office of the President

The Office of the President is located in Jones Hall. Inquiries and scheduling requests may be directed to Lynn Fallert, executive administrative assistant, at or 314.446.8307.