Contact the Office for Research on Aging

Office for Research on Aging Associated Faculty Members:

John Beale, Ph.D.
Professor, Medicinal Chemistry
john.beale@stlcop.edu
314.446.8461
Natural products; computational modeling; Alzheimer's disease
Current: Biochemical effect of TDP-43 protein in neurodegenerative diseases

Tricia Berry, Pharm.D., BCPS
Professor, Pharmacy Practice
Director, Experiential Programs
Assistant Dean
tricia.berry@stlcop.edu
314.446.8514
Independent pharmacy resources; OTC medications; medication literacy

Alicia Forinash, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCACP
Associate Professor, Pharmacy Practice
alicia.forinash@stlcop.edu
314.446.8505
Osteoporosis; menopause; diabetes; hyperlipidemia; hypertension

Patrick Fontane, Ph.D.
Professor, Sociology
patrick.fontane@stlcop.edu
314.446.8447
Community participation; healthy aging; senior exercise; fitness
Current: Community activity of older persons; religiosity and life satisfaction

Chaya Gopalan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Physiology
chaya.gopalan@stlcop.edu
314.446.8475
Neuroendocrinology; estrogen receptors in the brain
Current: Effect of testosterone on the expression of androgen and estrogen receptors in the female rat

Hedva Barenholtz Levy, Pharm D., BCPS

HbLPharmaConsulting

www.HBLPHARM.com

314.994.9409

Ambulatory care; preention of medication-related problems; identification of patients at risk

Current: Individualized consultations to elderly who take multiple medications; revising medication-risk screening tool; studying outcomes of (current) medication risk screening tool

Adjunct faculty at St. Louis College of Pharmacy

Amie Brooks, Pharm.D., PCPS

Assosciate Professor, Pharmacy Practice

amie.brooks@stlcop.edu

314.446.8503

Ambulatory care; patient education

Peter Hurd, Ph.D.

Professor, Pharmacy Administration
Assistant to the Dean for Research
peter.hurd@stlcop.edu
314.446.8441
Healthy aging; medication use; exercise and fitness

Paul H. Juang, Pharm.D., BCPS
Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice
paul.juang@stlcop.edu
314.446.8509
Clostridium difficile infections in the hospital; appropriate antibiotic usage in the hospital; sepsis

Jasna Marjanovic, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Pharmacology
jasna.marjanovic@stlcop.edu
314.446.8491
Hemostasis and thrombosis
Current: Role of phosphatidylinositol (3,4) bisphosphate in platelet functions; regulation of adenosine diphosphate-mediated platelet activation

Elizabeth Rattine-Flaherty
Assistant Professor, Health Communications
elizabeth.rattine-flaherty@stlcop.edu
314-446-8458
Health and community change; aging in place; hospice
Current: Community awareness; community education

Amy Tiemeier, Pharm.D., BCPS

Director, Professional Affairs
Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice
Associate Director, Experiential Programs
amy.tiemeier@stlcop.edu
314.446.8554
Dementia (Alzheimer’s disease, vascular dementia); medication management and polypharmacy; medication disposal; heath literacy; pharmacy technician training in South Africa
Current: Experiential education in a variety of geriatric settings

Scott M. Vouri, BCPS
Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice
scott.vouri@stlcop.edu
314.446.8551
Dementia; functionality; diabetes

Office for Research on Aging Advisory Board:

Ex Officio Advisory Board Members:

Kimberly Kilgore, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
Dean of Arts and Sciences and Vice President for Student Affairs
kimberly.kilgore@stlcop.edu

Patrick Fontane, St. Louis College of Pharmacy
Director of the Office for Research on Aging
patrick.fontane@stlcop.edu