History of Our Leaders

Ever wonder how Whelpley Hall came by its name, or been curious about the connection between the St. Louis College of Pharmacy and Henry Shaw, founder of the Missouri Botanical Garden? Maybe you’d like a bit of detail about who is at the College’s helm now. You’ll find some answers here and on our College history page. Specifically, you’ll see that Whelpley Hall is named in honor of Henry Whelpley, a well-known figure in pharmacy history and College dean from 1904 to 1926; Shaw was a member of the College’s first Board of Trustees; and John A. Pieper became the fourth STLCOP president in 2010. Learn more about our College leadership below.

Presidents of the College:
Charles C. Rabe     1961-1983
Sumner M. Robinson     


Thomas F. Patton     1994-2010
John A. Pieper           2010-Present
Deans of the College:
Oscar F. Potter 1868-1870
Classes suspended; College reorganized         1870--1871
Enno Sander     1872--1873
Theodore Fay   1873--1875
Otto Augustus Wall     1875--1877
James Michener Good    1877--1904
Henry Milton Whelpley  1904--1926
Charles Edward Caspari       1926--1942
Arthur Floyd Schlichting       1942--1957
James R. Thayer  1957--1964
Charles William Blissitt   1964--1970
Byron A. Barnes    1970--1989
Robert E. Smith   1989--1994
Kenneth W. Kirk      1995--2006
Wendy Duncan 2006--2012
Kimberly J. Kilgore    2006—Present