Resident Research Conference Hands Out First Award

News Story Photo

9/26/14 Update: Dr. Van Hise's research was highlighted in Formulary Journal.

The annual conference honoring resident scholarship at St. Louis College of Pharmacy included some added intrigue this year when one of the 22 pharmacists presenting their work was honored with the first research award in the conference’s five year history.  This year’s winner is Nicholas W. Van Hise, Pharm.D., whose presentation was titled “Evaluation of secondary prophylaxis with oral vancomycin on the incidence of recurrent C. difficile infections in high risk patients.”

Prior to the conference, a committee led by Jack Burke, Pharm.D., BCPS, FASHP, FCCP, professor and associate dean for post graduate education and Matt Pitlick, Pharm.D., BCPS, assistant professor of pharmacy practice read each resident’s abstract. They were judged for their quality and clarity. From that pool of candidates three finalists were chosen. Each of those finalists, which included Nicole Gibson ’13 Pharm.D., and Kristen Ochs, Pharm.D., were then judged on their oral presentation.

“I am impressed with the breadth and depth of this year’s research presentations,” Burke says. “A lot of hard work was on display by the men and women who are the future of our profession.”

Van Hise is a graduate of Union University in Jackson, Tenn. He is finishing up his year as a PGY1 pharmacy resident at Mercy Hospital St. Louis. His preceptors include St. Louis College of Pharmacy faculty members Andrew Crannage, Pharm.D., BCPS, Erin Hennessey, Pharm.D., BCPS, adjunct professor Alex Bryant, Pharm.D., and Jad Khoury, M.D.

For the first time this year’s conference offered three hours of continuing education credit. There were more than 120 participants this year including students, residents, faculty, and area pharmacists.

Related Links